Two-time CMA and ACM Female Vocalist of the Year Janie Fricke has released The Essential JANIE FRICKE, through Sony Legacy to all digital service providers for streaming and downloading. The collection includes many of her 18 number one hits including “What’re You Doing Tonight,” “It Ain’t Easy Being Easy,” “He’s A Heartache (Looking For A Place To Happen),” “Tell Me A Lie” and more. All forty songs released on The Essential JANIE FRICKE are available to fans on Spotify, Amazon Music, among others.

“After so many wonderful years of recording, it’s a reward to see this compilation of both my favorite singles and duets presented in one project,” Fricke said. “I am thrilled beyond words, and thanks to all the great folks at Sony/Columbia Records.”

Raised on a farm in Indiana, Janie Fricke began singing in church, and later turned that talent into a career which began as one of the marketing industry’s most successful jingle singers. Long before her success as a country artist, millions of people became familiar with Fricke’s voice through ads for United Airlines, Coca-Cola, 7-Up, McDonald’s and Red Lobster. She soon became a session singer where she was singing background in the studio with some of the biggest country stars of the late 70’s and early 80’s, including Loretta Lynn, Eddie Rabbitt, Crystal Gayle, Ronnie Milsap, Barbara Mandrell, and Mel Tillis.

After a string of duets with such greats as Merle Haggard and Moe Bandy, Fricke landed a solo recording contract in the early 80’s and scored several hit singles, including “Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me Baby,” “He’s a Heartache” and “You’re Heart’s Not In It.” She won CMA’s coveted “Female Vocalist of the Year” in 1983 and ’84 and has been nominated for three Grammy Awards. She has been credited with over 1,600 album projects and scored 36 hit singles.

Janie spent the better part of 2018 on the road, touring the country and singing to her fans. Janie is looking forward to a very busy year to come. “I’m so thankful to continue touring on the road. We had a great year and are working in 2019!” says Janie. As I look back, it’s amazing to remember all the venues where we have performed, and the fans we met. What an incredible opportunity, especially with my GREAT band. Thanks to all of you!”

In recent years, Sony Music Entertainment made four of Fricke’s classic albumsavailable to fans on Spotify, Apple Music and other digital platforms via the Legacy Digital Vault campaign, including The First Word In MemoryThe Very Best of Janie FrickeBlack & White and Saddle in the Wind! The collection of albums features the 18-time chart-topper’s biggest hits, including “It Ain’t Easy Being Easy,” “Tell Me a Lie,” “She’s Single Again” and more.

In addition, Fricke put a spin of bluegrass with some fresh interpretations of many of her beloved tunes with the release of Country Side of Bluegrass. The 13-track collection was produced by Bil VornDick, whose credits also include Alison Krauss, Bela Fleck, and Marty Robbins, and features some of the finest pickers in the industry.

The Essential Janie Fricke Track Listing
1. What’re You Doing Tonight
2. Stranger (with Johnny Duncan)
3. Baby It’s You
4. Come A Little Bit Closer (with Johnny Duncan)
5. Please Help Me, I’m Falling (In Love With You)
6. On My Knees (with Charlie Rich)
7. Playing Hard To Get
8. I’ll Love Your Troubles Away For A While
9. Let’s Try Again
10. But Love Me
11. Pass Me By (If Your’re Only Passing Through)
12. He’s Out Of My Life (with Johnny Duncan)
13. Down To My Last Broken Heart
14. Pride
15. I’ll Need Someone To Hold Me (When I Cry)
16. Do Me With Love
17. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me Baby
18. It Ain’t Easy Being Easy
19. You Don’t Know Love
20. He’s A Heartache (Looking For A Place To Happen)
21. Tell Me A Lie
22. Let’s Stop Talkin’ About It
23. If The Fall Don’t Get You
24. Your Heart’s Not In It
25. A Place To Fall Apart (with Merle Haggard)
26. The First Word In Memory Is Me
27. Who Cares (with Ray Charles)
28. All I Want To Do In Life (with George Jones)
29. She’s Single Again
30. Somebody Else’s Fire
31. Easy To Please
32. Always Have, Always Will
33. When A Woman Cries
34. Are You Satisfied
35. Baby You’re Gone
36. Where Does Love Go (When It’s Gone)
37. I’ll Walk Before I’ll Crawl
38. Heart
39. Give ‘Em My Number
40. Love Is One Of Those Words

About Janie Fricke:
A two-time CMA & ACM Female Vocalist of the Year, Fricke has hit the #1 spot on the Country charts an astounding 18 times. She was named Billboard Magazine Top Female Vocalist, was the First Female Voice on the Moon, and was named the UK’s Country Music Round Up’s Most Popular International Female Solo Act. Her music has reached Gold and Platinum sales status worldwide, and the talented and personable Indiana native has recorded numerous jingles for Coca-Cola, Pizza Hut and United Airlines. Janie has released 25 albums and 36 hit singles, and she remains one of the most-beloved entertainers in the Country field. For more information, go to

# # #
Suggested Tweet:
.@SonyLegacyRecs releases The Essential Janie Fricke for digital download